A Small Reflection from My Week

I have many thoughts from my week, but I will start with just one.  On Wednesday, George Couros came to my school district and talked about the Innovator’s Mindset, which I read over the summer and again when school started.  Friday, I made my annual journey to Science Leadership Academy to attend Educon 2.9, my 7th Educon.  What is on my mind right now is the state of education and the fact that not much is different than it was 7 years ago. My take away from 7 years of learning with amazing educators at Educon and reading books like A Whole New Mind by Daniel Pink, The Element by Sir Ken Robinson, The Innovator’s Mindset by George Couros, from watching TED Talks by: Sugata Mitra, Sir Ken Robinson and Adora Svitak, to name just a few…I realize that we are doing school wrong.  We need to stop playing a game where there are winners and losers and start giving all learners a place to do just that, learn.

Leave a comment