Reflection 

img_0458-1Every year, on my train home from Educon, I try to reflect so I can formula some intelligent thoughts about what I just experienced. I’m always in awe of people who have a blog post about their learning that must have been crafted on their walk through the airport terminal. I don’t gather my thoughts that quickly and need time to ponder. Maybe I’m procrastinating. Maybe just trying to make sense of all the thinking. This year is the first year I choose sessions that were so perfect for me that I didn’t walk out of one and I didn’t skip one. This year I tried to connect with people I didn’t know and didn’t let other people’s number of followers intimidate me. This year I spoke as one who is able to do so much of what we discuss because of an amazingly supportive principal. This year I spent time outside of my comfort zone in a session about Engineering that got me more excited than ever to share that with my students. This year I spent quality time with long distant friends who validate and challenge my thinking. This year rocked.

So since I’m posting before midnight, this year I’m getting a post in on the last day of Educon. I still need to sit and stew and sift back through all of my tweets to start putting my thoughts together. Reflecting is a key part of what we do as educators and learners. It’s a part that is often skipped because it takes time. But it a critical part to enable us to move forward in our learning journey. We need to make time for what we value. I’ll be using some quality time tomorrow to reflect.

Leave a Reply

