An Unexpected Journey

Every year or so I reread the Hobbit and the Lord of the Rings.  The characters are so familiar and I always look forward to being part of that world.  You can call me a book nerd.  I’m ok with that.  Every time I finish The Return of the King I have mixed emotions of satisfaction, joy and sadness.  Satisfaction from reading and getting immersed in the world of the story.  Joy in the happy ending and sadness in knowing that I have to leave the world of the story for a bit and leave those characters.  It happens every time.  But I still go back to it because the fun adventure outweighs the sad departure.

So I just finished Innovator’s Mindset this afternoon.  It’s the first time ever that I read a “professional” book and had mixed emotions at the end.  Joy, excitement and determination.  Joy in finding my true tribe inside the pages of the book.  Anyone else reading it thinking, “this is me, this is what has been wrong with me from the beginning, why i’ve hit so many walls and never felt like I truly fit in eduction but determined to make it different and make a difference” You.Are.My.Tribe.  Excitement in going back to read it again! Yes, I’m starting over and rereading it.  I can’t leave it just yet.  I need to stay in the world of this story longer.  There are too many things I want to revisit with renewed sense of purpose and focus on success.  Determination in knowing I need to ask more questions and work hard to make sure that I am doing the best for each learner who walks through my door, no matter their age.

I have 5 started blog posts and this was not one of them.

Leave a Reply

